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This examination will be given on Monday, November 2, 2015. Carefully read each situation described. Draw a circle around
the correct answer, “Yes-No”. The rulebook may not be used during the examination. In order to pass, the examinee must
correctly answer a minimum of 43 questions. Having passed this examination, the candidate is eligible for the  oor exami-
nation. NOTE: On this examination, “In the act of shooting” means the ball is still in the hands of the shooter. “Tap,” is

de ned as “the same as a try.”
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1. While the ball is at the disposal of Team A for a throw-in, the ball is live. Is this correct?
2. A-1 is charged with an intentional personal foul. The of cial awards Team B two free throws and 

awards Team B the ball out of bounds nearest the spot of the foul. Is the of cial correct?
3. A-1 jumps into the air to attempt a try. Seeing it may be blocked, A-1 voluntarily drops the ball to the

 oor. A-1 is the  rst to touch the ball after returning to the  oor. The of cial rules this a legal play. Is 
the of cial correct?

4. While A-1 is dribbling, A-2 commits a common foul. Team B is in the bonus. The of cial awards a 
one and one. Is the of cial correct?

5. A-1 commits his/her  fth foul and is disquali ed. Prior to Team A replacing A-1, Team B requests a 
time-out. The of cial grants the request. Is the of cial correct?

6. During Team A’s throw-in, A-2, while airborne from the frontcourt, catches the ball. A-2 lands on
one foot in the frontcourt and the other foot then comes down in the backcourt. The of cial rules a 
backcourt violation. Is the of cial correct?

7. As the ball comes through the net, the scoring team bats the ball preventing Team B from readily
making the throw-in. The of cial issues a warning for delay for interfering with the ball. Is the of cial 
correct?

8. The predominant color of Team A’s jerseys are white. Team A players are wearing leg and arm sleeves
that are beige along with headbands and wristbands that are white. The of cial rules that Team A’s 
apparel are legal. Is the of cial correct?

9. A-1 is awarded two free throws. Prior to the  rst free throw, B-6 reports to enter the game. The of cial 
beckons B-6 into the game. Is the of cial correct?

10. A-1 receives a pass from A-2. After catching the ball A-1 fumbles the ball and immediately recovers
it. A-1 then starts a dribble. The of cial rules this an illegal dribble. Is the of cial correct? 

11. After A-1 receives the ball in the frontcourt, B-1 assumes a legal guarding position within 6 feet of
A-1. The of cial starts the  ve second closely guarded count. Is the of cial correct?

12. A-1’s try is directly above the basket in the imaginary cylinder when B-1 touches the basket. The
of cial rules basket interference. Is the of cial correct?

13. While A-1’s try is in  ight, the of cial inadvertently sounds the whistle. The try is unsuccessful. The 
of cial uses the alternating possession procedure to resume play. Is the of cial correct?

14. A-1 lifts his/her pivot foot prior to releasing the ball on a pass. The of cial rules a traveling violation. 
Is the of cial correct?        

15. Prior to A-1 releasing his/her free throw, B-1, in a marked lane space, enters the lane too soon. A-1’s
attempt fails to hit the ring. The of cial rules a double free throw violation. Is the of cial correct?

16. A-1 is dribbling in the backcourt when B-1 bats the ball away from A-1. When A-1 regains control,
the of cial starts a new 10 second count. Is the of cial correct?

17. A-2, while in his/her frontcourt, de ects A-1’s throw-in into the backcourt. A-1 is the  rst to touch the 
ball in backcourt. The of cial rules a backcourt violation. Is the of cial correct?  

18. A-1’s try is touched by B-1 on its upward  ight. Time expires as the ball is in  ight. The try is successful. 
The of cial disallows the goal. Is the of cial correct?     

19. A-1 jumps into the air in an attempt to save the ball from going out of bounds. After catching the ball
and while his/her momentum is carrying him/her out of bounds, A-1 requests a time-out. The of cial 
grants the request. Is the of cial correct?  

20. While the ball is in  ight on a try for goal, A-2 commits a common foul. The try is unsuccessful. Team 
B is in the bonus. The of cial rules a team control foul. Is the of cial correct?   

21. Following a held ball, the of cial mistakenly awards the ball to Team A. After the ball is legally 
touched inbounds, the mistake is recognized. The of cial rules the mistake cannot be corrected once 
the throw-in ends. Is the of cial correct?   

22. A-2 fouls B-2 while A-1 is in the act of shooting and before the ball is released. The ball enters the
basket. The of cial disallows the basket. Is the of cial correct? 

23. Prior to releasing the ball in starting his/her dribble, A-1 lifts the pivot foot off the  oor. The of cial 
rules a traveling violation. Is the of cial correct? 
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24. While the ball is in  ight on a try for goal by A-1, Team A retains team control. Is this correct?  
25. After a  eld goal and before the ball is at the disposal of the team not credited with the score, the ball 

is dead. Is this correct?
26. Team A is granted a time-out. After 20 seconds has elapsed, Team A returns to the  oor ready to play. 

The of cial rules the time-out cannot be shortened unless both teams are ready to play before the time-
out is over. Is the of cial correct?  

27. Following the warning horn for a time-out, A-6 reports to enter the game. The of cial beckons A-6 
into the game.  Is the of cial correct? 

28. Airborne shooter A-1, prior to returning to the  oor, charges B-1. The try is successful. The of cial 
charges A-1 with a player control foul and disallows the basket. Is the of cial correct?

29. Prior to A-1 releasing his/her free throw B-2 enters the lane followed by A-2. Both players are in a
marked lane space. The of cial rules a double free throw violation. Is the of cial correct?

30. The of cials’ jurisdiction is terminated and the  nal score approved when all of cials leave the visual 
con nes of the playing area. Is this correct? 

31. During an alternating possession throw-in, thrower-in A-1 commits a throw-in violation. The of cial 
awards the ball to Team B and rules Team A retains the arrow. Is the of cial correct?    

32. During a jump ball to start the game, A-1’s tap is simultaneously de ected out of bounds by A-2 and 
B-2. The of cial rules that A-2 and B-2 will jump to resume play. Is the of cial correct? 

33. A-1, who is dribbling from the backcourt to the frontcourt, has both feet in the frontcourt while dribbling
in the backcourt. The of cial continues the 10 second count. Is the of cial correct?

34. The of cial erroneously awards A-1 a one and one. A-1 makes both free throws. B-1 passes to B-2, 
who scores. While the ball is at the disposal of Team A following the score, the error is recognized.
The of cial rules the time frame to correct has expired. Is the of cial correct? 

35. During a jump ball, the ball becomes live when the ball is legally touched by one of the jumpers. Is
this correct?

36. While A-1 is dribbling, B-1 bats the ball away from A-1. A-1 catches the ball with both hands and
starts another dribble. The of cial rules an illegal dribble. Is the of cial correct?

37. As the of cial bounces the ball to the thrower-in A-1 and before A-1 catches the ball, the ball is live. 
Is this correct?

38. A-1’s throw-in goes directly out of bounds without being touched. The of cial rules a throw-in violation 
and awards Team B the ball at the spot of the original throw-in.  Is the of cial correct? 

39. While the ball is at the disposal of A-1 for a throw-in, B-1 reaches through the boundary plane and
fouls A-1. The of cial rules this an intentional personal foul. Is the of cial correct?

40. Player A-1 commits his/her  fth foul. When the of cial noti es the coach, A-1 is of cially disquali ed 
and becomes bench personnel. Is this correct?

41. During a throw-in by A-1, A-2 commits a common foul on B-2. Team B is in the bonus. The of cial 
rules a team control foul. Is the of cial correct?

42. A-1 is in the act of shooting when B-2 fouls A-2. A-1 continues his/her motion and scores. The of cial 
counts the goal. Is the of cial correct?

43. While Team A is in control, a double personal foul is committed. The of cial awards the ball back to 
Team A nearest to where the ball was located. Is the of cial correct?

44. A-1 is fouled while tapping a rebound toward his/her basket. The ball enters the basket. The of cial 
counts the goal and awards A-1 one free throw ruling a tap is treated the same as a try.  Is the of cial 
correct?

45. B-1 has obtained a legal guarding position on A-1 and is maintaining that position when A-1 contacts
B-1 on the torso while B-1 has one foot off the  oor. The of cial charges B-1 with a blocking foul. Is 
the of cial correct? 

46. A-1 is bleeding.  The of cial stops the game and directs A-1 to the bench. The coach of Team A requests 
and is granted a time-out. Following the time out, A-1 comes back onto the court ready to play. The
of cial rules A-1 may not enter until the next opportunity to substitute. Is the of cial correct? 

47. A-1, while airborne, intercepts a pass. A-1 lands on his/her left foot, jumps off that foot and lands
simultaneously on both feet. The of cial rules a traveling violation. Is the of cial correct?    

48. The throw-in by A-1 is  rst touched inbounds by A-1. The of cial rules a throw-in violation. Is the 
of cial correct?    

49. Jumper A-1 taps the ball which touches one of the non-jumpers and is caught by A-1.  The of cial 
rules this a violation. Is the of cial correct?  

50. A-1 and B-1 collide.  When A-1 gets up off the  oor, A-1 exhibits the signs, symptoms and behaviors 
of a possible concussion.  The of cial directs A-1 to the bench.  Is the of cial correct?


