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This examination will be given on Monday, November 7, 2016. Carefully read each situation described. Draw a circle around 
the correct answer, “Yes-No”.  The rulebook may not be used during the examination. In order to pass, the examinee must 
correctly answer a minimum of 43 questions. Having passed this examination, the candidate is eligible for the floor exami-
nation.  NOTE: On this examination, “In the act of shooting” means the ball is still in the hands of the shooter.  “Tap,” is 
defined as “the same as a try.”

  1. 	  Yes	 No
 
  2.	 Yes	 No 

  3.	 Yes	 No 

  4.	 Yes	 No 

  5.	 Yes	 No 

  6.	 Yes	 No 

  7.	 Yes	 No 

  8.	 Yes	 No

 
  9.	 Yes	 No 

10.	 Yes	 No 

11.	 Yes	 No 

12.	 Yes	 No
 
13.	 Yes	 No 

14.	 Yes	 No 

 
15.	 Yes	 No 

16.	 Yes	 No

17.	 Yes	 No

18.	 Yes	 No

19.	 Yes	 No 

20.	 Yes	 No 

21.	 Yes	 No 

22.	 Yes	 No

23.	 Yes	 No

1.	 While A-1 is dribbling, A-2 commits a common foul. The official rules a player control foul. Is the 
official correct?          

2.	 Player A-1 commits his/her fifth foul. When the official notifies the coach, A-1 is officially disqualified 
and becomes bench personal. Is this correct?  

3.	 On a try by A-1, the ball is in the air directly above the ring when B-1 touches the basket. The official 
rules basket interference. Is the official correct? 

4.	 While the ball is at the disposal of A-1 for a throw-in, B-2 fouls A-2. The official charges B-2 with a 
personal foul. Is the official correct?      

5.	 A-1’s throw-in goes directly out of bounds without being touched. The official rules a throw-in violation. 
Is the official correct?  

6.	 A-2 fouls B-2 while A-1 is in the act of shooting. A-1 continues the motion and scores. The official 
cancels the goal. Is the official correct? 

7.	 Prior to releasing the ball to start his/her dribble, A-1 lifts his/her pivot foot off the floor. The official 
rules a traveling violation. Is the official correct? 

8.	 Following a held ball, the official mistakenly awards the ball to Team A. After the ball is legally 
touched inbounds, the mistake is recognized.  The official rules the mistake cannot be corrected once 
the throw-in ends. Is the official correct? 

9.	 Before the ball hits the ring or backboard, free throw shooter A-1 leaves the semi-circle. The official 
rules a free-throw violation. Is the official correct? 

10.	 During an alternating possession throw-in by Team A, B-2 fouls A-2.  Team A is not in the bonus. The 
official awards the ball to Team A and rules Team A will retain the arrow after the throw-in ends.  Is 
the official correct? 

11.	 Prior to releasing the ball on a pass, A-1 lifts his/her pivot foot off the floor. The official rules a violation. 
Is the official correct?    

12.	 During A-1’s interrupted dribble, the official continues the 5-second, closely-guarded count.  Is the 
official correct? 

13.	 While A-1 is dribbling near the division line, A-2 and B-2 are charged with a double personal foul in 
the free-throw lane. The official awards the ball to Team A nearest to where the ball was located when 
the foul occurred. Is the official correct? 

14.	 Prior to the start of the game, Team B is charged with a technical foul. A-6 replaces A-1 the designated 
starter to attempt the free throws. The official allows A-6 to enter the game to attempt the free throws. 
Is the official correct?  

15.	 The coach of Team A wants to confer with the official to try to prevent or rectify a correctable error. 
After a brief discussion it is determined there was no error. The official charges Team A with a time-
out. Is the official correct?   

16.	 A-1 catches the ball while airborne. A-1 lands on both feet simultaneously. A-1 pivots prior to passing 
to a teammate. The official rules A-1 has committed a traveling violation. Is the official correct? 

17.	 While A-1’s free throw is in flight, B-1 breaks the plane of the 3-point line. A-1 then commits a free-
throw violation. The official rules a double free-throw violation. Is the official correct?

18.	 A-1 ends his/her dribble then fumbles the ball. A-1 recovers the ball and dribbles again. The official 
rules a legal play. Is the official correct? 

19.	 Before A-1’s free throw is released, B-1 enters the free-throw lane followed by A-2. Both are in marked 
lane spaces. The try is unsuccessful.  The official penalizes only the first violation. Is the official correct? 

20.	 A-1’s try is touched by B-1 on its upward flight. Time expires after the ball is in flight.  The try is 
successful. The official disallows the goal. Is the official correct?

21.	 While A-1 is in the act of shooting and before releasing the ball, B-1 fouls A-1. A-1 continues the 
motion and the ball enters the basket. The official counts the goal. Is the official correct?    

22.	 While A-1’s free throw is in flight, B-1 breaks the plane of the free throw line with a foot and contacts 
A-1. The free throw is missed. The official rules a violation and a personal foul. Is the official correct? 

23.	 While the ball is in flight on a field goal try, time expires in the third quarter. Before the try ends, A-2 is 
assessed a technical foul. The official starts the fourth quarter with Team B attempting the free throws 
for the technical foul. Is the official correct? 
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25.	 Yes	 No 

26.	 Yes	 No 
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24.	 Following the warning horn for a time-out, A-6 reports to enter the game. The official beckons A-6 
into the game. Is this correct?

25.	 Airborne shooter A-1 commits a common foul against B-1. Ball enters the basket. The official rules a 
player control foul and disallows the goal. Is the official correct? 

26.	 A-1’s throw-in is caught by A-2 while A-2 has one foot touching the floor in the frontcourt. A-2 then 
places the other foot down in the backcourt. The official rules a backcourt violation. Is the official 
correct? 

27.	 B-6 replaces B-5. Team A commits a violation before the clock starts. B-5 reports to enter the game. 
The official beckons B-5 into the game. Is the official correct?    

28.	 A-1 commits his/her fifth foul. The official informs the coach and then instructs the timer to start the 
15-second clock and to sound the warning horn to replace A-1. Is the official correct? 

29.	 During a designated spot throw-in, thrower-in A-1 moves directly backward 3 feet to avoid the defensive 
pressure. The official rules a violation for leaving the designated spot. Is the correct? 

30.	 Airborne player A-1 intercepts a pass near the side line. A-1, seeing he/she will land out of bounds, 
orally requests a time-out. The official grants the request. Is the official correct?   

31.	 A-1 is bleeding and is directed to the bench. Team A requests and is granted a time-out. Following the 
time-out, A-1 enters the playing court ready to play. The official allows A-1 to stay in the game. Is the 
official correct? 

32.	 Jumper A-1 taps the ball which hits the floor and then A-1 catches it. The official rules a violation. Is 
the official correct?   

33.	 A-1, closely guarded in the frontcourt, dribbles the ball for four seconds then catches the ball. The 
official starts a new count. Is the official correct?  

34.	 While A-1 is dribbling, B-1 bats the ball away from A-1. A-1 recovers the ball and dribbles again. The 
official rules a legal play. Is the official correct? 

35.	 A-1 is charged with a technical foul in the first quarter. In the fourth quarter A-1 commits his/her fourth 
personal foul. The official disqualifies A-1. Is the official correct? 

36.	 With three tenths of a second on the game clock, A-1’s throw-in is tapped toward Team A’s basket by 
A-2. While the ball is in flight, time expires. The try is successful. The official counts the goal. Is the 
official correct?

37.	 As A-6 enters the game, the official notices a manufacturer’s logo on the sleeve of the undershirt.  The 
official rules this illegal.  Is the official correct?

38.	 The ball becomes live on a throw-in when placed at the disposal of the thrower. Is this correct?   
39.	 Before A-1 releases the ball on a throw-in, B-1 breaks the plane of the boundary line. The official issues 

a warning to Team B. Is the official correct?   
40.	 While A-1’s free throw is in flight, B-1 enters the free-throw lane and steps across the free throw line 

before the ball hits the ring or backboard. The try hits the ring but is unsuccessful. The official rules a 
free-throw violation. Is the official correct? 

41.	 While the ball is in flight on a free throw by A-1, A-4 breaks the plane of the three-point line before 
the ball hits the ring or backboard. The official rules a free-throw violation. Is the official correct?  

42.	 During an alternating possession throw-in, Team A commits a throw-in violation. The official awards 
Team B the ball and has the scorer reverse the arrow toward Team B’s basket. Is the official correct? 

43.	 A-1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control of the ball on the floor. The official rules 
sliding is legal after securing control. Is the official correct?  

44.	 After a field goal and before the ball is at the disposal of the team not credited with the score, the ball 
is dead. Is this correct?

45.	 A-1’s throw-in is caught by A-2 who is airborne from the frontcourt. A-2 lands in the backcourt. The 
official rules this a legal play. Is the official correct? 

46.	 B-1 jumps in front of dribbler A-1. B-1 gets both feet down inbounds, is facing A-1 and gets to the 
spot before contact.  B-1 does not give A-1 any time or distance to stop. The official charges B-1 with 
a blocking foul. Is the official correct?     

47.	 A-1, who is dribbling from the backcourt to the frontcourt, has both feet in the frontcourt while dribbling 
in the backcourt. The official continues the 10-second count. Is the official correct? 

48.	 During a jump ball, the ball becomes live when the ball is legally touched by one of the jumpers. Is 
this correct? 

49.	 Prior to A-1 attempting his/her first free throw of two, A-6 reports to the scorer’s table to substitute for 
A2. The scorer sounds the horn and the official beckons A-6 into the game. Is the official correct? 

50.	 A common foul is charged to A-1 while A-2 is in control of the ball inbounds.  The official rules a team 
control foul.  Is the official correct? 


