Play of the Day 473 (2024-25)

      2 Comments on Play of the Day 473 (2024-25)

The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.

A-1, while dribbling the ball near a sideline, loses his balance.  During the dribble, A-1 steps off the court and then back on.  A-1 does not touch the ball while momentarily off the court.  A-1 continues the dribble after resuming inbounds status.

Handle the situation.


This is an out-of-bounds violation.  By rule, a player is considered to be in control of the ball while dribbling the ball.  When a player is in control of the ball, such player is not allowed to have out-of-bounds status.  

(References: Rules 4-12-1, 7-1-1)


Have you seen an unusual play? Let all officials benefit from it by sending it to Play of the Day

About Paul Behr

A former high school basketball coach and a former ABA basketball official. An IAABO-certified basketball official for 43 years and an IAABO Life Member. Currently an active high school basketball official in South Carolina. Interpreter of IAABO Board 403 in South Carolina.

2 thoughts on “Play of the Day 473 (2024-25)

  1. Zoble Morris

    If A1 had not continued the dribble after stepping back in bounds but just picked the ball up would he still be guilty of an out of bounds violation?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *