Play of the Day #193 (2021-22)

      1 Comment on Play of the Day #193 (2021-22)

The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.

A1 drives to the basket on a breakaway and goes up for a layup.  B1 intentionally pushes A1 in the back.  The try goes through the goal.  The coach of Team A is upset because he thinks the foul should have been ruled flagrant.  The coach of Team A is charged with a technical foul.   When he refuses to stop complaining, a second technical foul is ruled.

A1 makes 1 of his two free throws.  Team B makes three out the four free throws for the technical fouls charged against the Team A coach.  When the officials go to put the ball in play at the division line for Team B, they discover that all free throws were attempted at the wrong baskets.

Handle the situation.


Continue reading

Quiz #285 (2021)

      No Comments on Quiz #285 (2021)

1. The Head Coach of Team B changes “2” numbers in the scorebook prior to player introductions? Team A will receive “2” shots and the ball at the division line.

2. In question 1, the technical foul is charged indirectly to the Head Coach of Team B? T-F.

3. In question 1, the technical foul is charged directly to the Head Coach of Team B? T-F.

4. If one foul of a double foul is flagrant, no free throws are awarded? T-F.

5. On the opening toss the ball is heading out of bounds. B-3 controls the ball and throws the ball to A-5. The officiating crew should set the AP Arrow towards Team B? T-F.


Continue reading

Quiz #284 (2021)

      No Comments on Quiz #284 (2021)

1. On a fast break A-5 throws a pass to A-3. The pass hits B-3 in the knee unintentionally. The Lead official rules a “ kicking” violation? T-F.

2. On the opening toss between A-5 and B-5 the ball goes out of bounds because A-4 and B-4 simultaneously knock the ball out of bounds. The game will resume with any “2” opponents jumping at the center circle? T-F.

3. If a player removes their jersey in front of their bench they shall be warned first before a technical foul is assessed? T-F.

4. If the Head Coach does not replace a disqualified player within 15 seconds, the head coach is charged with indirect technical foul? T-F.

5. For double personal and technical fouls, the AP Arrow is always used in these scenarios? T-F.


Continue reading

Quiz #283 (2021)

      No Comments on Quiz #283 (2021)

1. A-1 is driving to the basket to attempt the lay-up. B-1 fouls A-1 on the try. The ball is in the cylinder and A-3 touches the ball. The center official rules offensive basket interference and awards A-1 “2” shots? T-F.

2. A-3 misses a jump shot and A-4 taps the ball and is fouled by B-1 and the ball enters the basket. The Lead official awards A-4 the goal and “1” shot? T-F.

3. The extra time out shall not be granted until after the clock has started to begin an extra period? T-F.

4. A-1 has a designated spot throw-in. The trail official bounces the ball to A-1 who muffs the ball. The trail official blows the whistle and re-administers the throw-in? T-F.

5. Jumper A-1 leaves the jumping circle when the ball is tossed. Is this legal. Yes or No.


Continue reading

Quiz #282 (2021)

      No Comments on Quiz #282 (2021)

1. A-2 replaces A-1 on a designated spot throw-in. Is this a violation? Yes or No.

2. A-2 steps out of bounds while thrower-in A-1 is still holding the ball on a designated spot throw-in. Is this a violation? Yes or No.

3. Thrower-in A-1 hands the ball to A-2 who is on the playing court. Is this a violation? Yes or No.

4. A-1 on a designated spot throw-in has a pivot foot? Yes or No.

5. A-2 replaces thrower-in A-1 on a non-designated spot throw-in. Is this a violation? Yes or No.


Continue reading