Quiz #266 (2021)

      No Comments on Quiz #266 (2021)

1. When does the game clock start on a jump ball ?

2. During a fumble a team is in control? T-F.

3. What is legal guarding position of a defender when a player has the ball, or does not have the ball?

4. When guarding a player with the ball, time and distance is meaningless? T-F.


Continue reading

Play of the Day #187 (2021-22)

      1 Comment on Play of the Day #187 (2021-22)

The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.

Both teams are in the double bonus.  Team A is leading by two points with 42 seconds to go.  After a timeout, A-1 is taking the ball out on the end line in backcourt.  Team B is pressing full court.  A-1 sees A-4 in the frontcourt guarded by B-4.  A-1 throws a pass towards A-4.  Just before the pass arrives, A-4 pushes off B-4 in order to receive the pass.  The official rules a foul on A-4 and awards B-4 two free throws.

Was the official correct?


Continue reading

Play of the Day #186 (2021-22)

      1 Comment on Play of the Day #186 (2021-22)

The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.

A-5 jumps to attempt a short jump shot.  B-5 jumps in an attempt to block the shot.  B-5’s hand goes up through the ring and blocks the attempt outside the imaginary cylinder.  The ball is still on its upward flight when blocked.

Handle the situation


Continue reading

Quiz #264 (2021)

      No Comments on Quiz #264 (2021)

1. If you have a double personal foul in the backcourt and a team is in possession of the ball, the offensive team would receive a new “10” second count? T-F.

2. A-1 fakes a pass and fumbles the ball. May A-1 be first to touch the ball? Yes or No.

3. If the ball goes out of bounds and was touched simultaneously by A-1 and B-1, what is the ruling?

4. Jumpers A-1 and B-1 knock the ball out of bounds simultaneously. Who will be the jumpers, when the jump ball is redone?

5. Where is the ball put in play after a flagrant personal foul?


Continue reading

Quiz #263 (2021)

      No Comments on Quiz #263 (2021)

1. As the 4th Quarter expires with the score tied, A-1 commits a flagrant personal foul on B-1. Team A is granted a time out. B-1 misses the 1st shot, Team A  then requests a time out, can they be granted a time out? Yes or No.

2. Team A’s Head Coach requests a time out for the officiating crew to assess whether Team A did not receive a merited free throw. The officiating crew discusses and realizes that Team A’s Head Coach is correct. Is Team A charged with a time out? Yes or No.

3. In question 2, if the error is not correctable, is Team A charged with a time out? Yes-No.

4. The ball is at the disposal of the Thrower-in when the ball is placed at a spot on the floor? T-F.

5. A flagrant foul is not a common foul? T-F.


Continue reading