Play of the Day 469 (2024-25)

      1 Comment on Play of the Day 469 (2024-25)

The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.

A-2 is fouled in the act of shooting and is injured.  The coach comes onto the floor to tend to A-2.  A-6 subs for A-2 and attempts the two free throws.  The last free throw is successful.  A-2 is waiting at the table to return to the game.

Handle the situation.


A-2 is not permitted to return to the game at this point since the clock has not run.  It does not matter why a player leaves the game.  Once a player leaves the game, that player is not allowed to return to the game until the clock has run.

(References: Rules 3-3-4)


Have you seen an unusual play? Let all officials benefit from it by sending it to Play of the Day

About Paul Behr

A former high school basketball coach and a former ABA basketball official. An IAABO-certified basketball official for 43 years and an IAABO Life Member. Currently an active high school basketball official in South Carolina. Interpreter of IAABO Board 403 in South Carolina.

1 thought on “Play of the Day 469 (2024-25)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *