Play of the Day 470 (2024-25)

      1 Comment on Play of the Day 470 (2024-25)

The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.

A-1 drives to the basket and scores on a layup over B-1.  After score A-1 and B-1 begin jawing at each other.  The new Trail sounds the whistle for a double technical foul for unsporting conduct.  At the same time, the Center grants a timeout to the head coach of Team A.

Handle the situation.


The granting of a timeout has no effect on the ruling of a double technical foul.  Whether the ball is live or dead, whether the clock is running or not is not relevant.  The double technical foul for unsporting conduct stands.  A-1 and B-1 receive one technical foul.  The head coach does not receive an indirect technical foul since the timeout has not yet been reported to the table and the timeout is not officially underway.  
This is a point of interruption play.  After the timeout, play will resume with a throw-in for Team B on the end line in backcourt.  Team B may move along the end line during the throw-in.

(References: Rules 4-34-1, 4-36-2b)


Have you seen an unusual play? Let all officials benefit from it by sending it to Play of the Day

About Paul Behr

A former high school basketball coach and a former ABA basketball official. An IAABO-certified basketball official for 43 years and an IAABO Life Member. Currently an active high school basketball official in South Carolina. Interpreter of IAABO Board 403 in South Carolina.

1 thought on “Play of the Day 470 (2024-25)

  1. THOMAS HANBACH

    Very Interesting Play. Yes! This Play needs to be ruled correctly due to the situation.
    Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *