Play of the Day 472 (2024-25)

      1 Comment on Play of the Day 472 (2024-25)

The play described below is provided for your review and discussion. The rulings given are based on NFHS rules. NCAA rulings may be different.

In the frontcourt A-1 attempts to pass the ball to A-3.  The pass is deflected by B-1 into the backcourt.  The ball bounces in the backcourt.  The ball is recovered by A-1 who is airborne after having jumped from the frontcourt.  A-1 lands in the backcourt.

Handle the situation.


This is a backcourt violation.  The deflection of the ball by B-1 did not end team control by Team A.  A-1 could have gone into the backcourt and recovered the ball.  However, A-1 jumped from the frontcourt.  Regardless of where A-1 is in the air, A-1 retains frontcourt status until A-1 lands.  When A-1 recovered the ball in the air, A-1 gave the ball frontcourt status since A-1 still had frontcourt status.  Upon landing, A-1 got backcourt status resulting in a backcourt violation.  

(References: Rules 4-35-3, 4-4-1, 4-4-2, 9-9-1)


Have you seen an unusual play? Let all officials benefit from it by sending it to Play of the Day

About Paul Behr

A former high school basketball coach and a former ABA basketball official. An IAABO-certified basketball official for 43 years and an IAABO Life Member. Currently an active high school basketball official in South Carolina. Interpreter of IAABO Board 403 in South Carolina.

1 thought on “Play of the Day 472 (2024-25)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *